Wainwright Shuts Down Cubs for 20th W

They are hanging the Big Blue ‘L’ flag at Wrigley Field Friday afternoon after Adam Wainwright pitched six innings solid inning for his 20th victory in the St. Louis Cardinals’ 7-1 win over the Chicago Cubs. Waino joins the New York Yankees’ CC Sabathia and the Philadelphia Phillies’ Roy Halladay as MLB’s third 20-game winner in 2010. Last season, no pitchers accomplished the feat. Wainwright (20-11) coasted after getting staked on right-fielder Allen Craig’s three run dinger in the first inning. He’s now tied Halladay for the NL lead in strikeouts with 213 and lowered his ERA to 2.42, second behind injured Florida Marlins starter Josh Johnson in the NL.

This entry was posted in Chicago Cubs, Florida Marlins, New York Yankees, Philadelphia Phillies, Pitching, St. Louis Cardinals, Starting Pitchers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s